Maine LD 61: An Act To Require Tattoo Practitioners To Be at Least 18 Years of Age


Official bill page at

Sponsors | Actions | Bill Text | Patterns of Support


Principal Sponsor: Rep. Arthur Verow of Brewer: (D – District 128) — e-mail | Facebook

1 Cosponsors:



1/14/2015 House Committee on Labor, Commerce, Research and Economic Development suggested and ordered printed.
Sent for concurrence. ORDERED SENT FORTHWITH.
1/20/2015 Senate On motion by Senator Volk of Cumberland, REFERRED to the Committee on Labor, Commerce, Research and Economic Development, in concurrence.
3/12/2015 Senate Pursuant to Joint Rule 310.3 Placed in Legislative Files (DEAD)

Bill Text


An Act To Require Tattoo Practitioners To Be at Least 18 Years of Age

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 32 MRSA 4252, as amended by PL 2013, c. 264, 15, is further amended to read:

4252. Issuance of licenses

The Department of Health and Human Services may license persons 18 years of age or older to practice the art of tattooing. Such licenses are issued for a term of one year and may be renewed annually. The fee for an initial license or a renewal license may not exceed $250 for a resident of the State and $1,000 for a person not a resident of the State. All fees collected by the department pursuant to this section must be deposited in a special revenue account dedicated to a health inspection program.

Sec. 2. 32 MRSA 4302 is enacted to read:

4302. Eligibility

To be eligible for a license under this chapter, a person must be 18 years of age or older.


This bill requires a tattoo practitioner to be at least 18 years of age. It also changes the maximum licensing fee for persons who are not residents of the State.

Patterns of Support

Pattern of Cosponsorship by Region:

Pattern of Cosponsorship by Gender:

Pattern of Cosponsorship by Party:

Pattern of Cosponsorship by Campaign Finance Classification:

Note: Maine Clean Elections Act (MCEA) Qualified candidates only accept a small dollar value of initial contributions early in their campaigns, pledge not to accept further campaign contributions from private sources, and receive public funding for their campaigns. MCEA Non-Qualified candidates choose not to obtain public funding and instead are free to accept campaign contributions from individuals, party committees, political action committees and business sources.

This information about LD 61 was last updated on 2016-05-12.
The Open Maine Politics website is in a beta release and results should not be taken as definitive. Please visit the official website of the Maine State Legislature for entirely verifiable information.

Share this page…Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on TumblrDigg thisShare on RedditEmail this to someonePrint this page

Be the first to comment on "Maine LD 61: An Act To Require Tattoo Practitioners To Be at Least 18 Years of Age"

Leave a comment

Democracy thrives on participation; please share your thoughts!
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your email address will not be published.